FREE ground shipping


Chakras- balancing the seven power points.

Take control of your health in 2016 by unleashing the power of body’s seven energy centers or chakras. In this blog we explore, these chakras and the yoga asanas which should be performed to master these chakras.


Ancient scriptures on Yoga have detailed descriptions about chakras in human body, wherein the word chakra means “spinning wheel” in Sanskrit. Yogis believed that every human body has seven chakras which form the life-force energy center within a human body. These chakras are located along the spinal cord of a human being, and each chakra signifies certain characteristics. Yoga and meditation helps one to focus on these chakras, and master them to achieve self-awareness. It has also been said about these chakras that they serve as the gateways of energy, allowing flow of energy into our physical body.

Yoga helps rejuvenate the body, soul and mind.  Let us explore these chakras and respective yoga asanas in detail:

Chakra 1 : Muladhara or Root Chakra



This Root chakra, as the name also suggests, is located in the pelvis region, at the base of a human body’s spine. One should perform Virbhadrasana I or Warrior I to master this Chakra. Virbhadrasana I strengthen foundation and help release stress from the pelvis hips and lower back area.

Chakra 2 : Svadisthana or Sacral Chakra


The Sacral Chakra is home to human body’s reproductive organs, and is located close to the Muladhara chakra. To master this chakra, one should perform Baddha Konasana or Bound Angle Pose in which one has to sit with hips held open and stretching the groin area. Other asana postures which help master this chakra include, forward bends, deep lunges, and squats.

Chakra 3: Manipura or Solar plexus Chakra


The Solar Plexus Chakra is located at the navel or center of the human body. Mastering this asana helps you focus on the body’s energy powerhouse and heal stomach, pancreas, bladder, and liver.  One should perform Navasana or Boat pose to master this chakra.

Chakra  4: Anahata or Heart Chakra


As the name signifies, the Heart Chakra helps build focus on the chest region. On emotional level, this chakra helps one to master or experience feelings of love and compassion. One should perform, Ustrasana or Camel Pose to master this chakra.

Chakra 5: Vishudha or Throat Chakra


The Throat Chakra is located in the throat region, and helps one focus on mastering speaking as well as energizes the endocrine glands required for metabolism activity in a human being. One should perform Matsyasana or Fish Pose to stretch the throat region and focus energies on this chakra.

Chakra 6: Ajna or Third Eye Chakra



As we know from the scriptures, an individual’s third eye is located at the center of the forehead slightly above the eyes. This is also the converging point of ida and pingala nadis where the mind and body converge. Mastering this chakra helps in internal as well as physical growth as this chakra energizes the pituitary gland. In addition to the physical growth, this chakra is very important in emotional and intuitive growth of a human being. One should perform Child’s pose to master this chakra.

Chakra 7: Sahasrara or Crown Chakra


The Crown Chakra is located at the top of the head, and thereby also represents the highest level of inner enlightenment. This chakra represents convergence of mind, soul and body. It is also said to integrate all the above mentioned chakras and uniquely represent their individual characteristics. One who masters this chakra achieves the highest level of self-awareness and consciousness. One should perform Sirsasana or Headstand to master this chakra.

In this New Year 2016, pledge yourself to perform asanas focused on body’s seven chakras and unblock the tremendous energy locked inside your body and mind.



This entry was posted in ecosamsara. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>


Sign up for FREE newsletter and stay informed with the latest fashion product news!

Connect to

Payment Methods